IIHF World Championship schedule

World Championship today

Full World Championship TV and stream schedule, daily start times for all World Championship games. livesportsontv.com!
On this page you will find information about when, where and how to watch the IIHF World Championship live on TV or live streaming. The event is being held annually and features only the best ice hockey nations. The tournament has been organized since 1920 and is a widely popular event among ice hockey fans around the world. The IIHF World Championship TV and live streaming schedule on Livesportsontv.com will present you with the latest and most accurate broadcast information and instructions on how to watch the games live. Follow Livesportsontv.com on Twitter and Facebook for even more news and updates on the tournament and up-to-date broadcasting information.

IIHF World Championship – Background and History

The International Ice Hockey Federation, IIHF, was founded in 1908 and has been organizing the ice hockey world cup since 1920. The ice hockey world cup was at first held as a part of the Olympics, though it was later separated from the Olympics and held as an individual event for the first time in 1930. The world cup is the most prestigious and recognized international ice hockey tournament and has featured some of the most remembered and greatest national teams there has ever been. Canada and Russia, former Soviet Union, are two of the most dominant nations in the world cup history, having won close to 100 medals and more than 50 gold medals combined.

Most successful teams

There have been several unforgettable stories about successful teams participating in the IIHF World Cup throughout the history. The Canadian dominance in the beginning of the world cup era and the Soviet Union teams in the 60’s and 70’s are two of the most remarkable performances in the history of the tournament. The Czech Republic, Sweden, Finland and the US are other nations that’ve always been recognized for their strong performances in the world cup and should never be written off when discussing potential champions candidates.
Canada holds an impressive record of gold medals and the majority of them was won in the early years of the world cup era. In 1961, the Canadian team won its 19th gold medal, 17 more than any other nation had at that time. 1961 however marked the end of a Canadian era as the Soviet Union came through with an amazing group of players who were going to bring the Soviet Union several world cup trophies. Between 1963 and 1990 the Soviet Union managed to win the tournament 19 times and became the most successful world cup nation. Even though there’ve been several strong teams represented in the world in recent years no team has managed to re-create the domination that Canada and the Soviet Union displayed back then.

Medal table
1. Russian (Inc. Soviet Union) – 27 gold, 10 silver, 10 bronze
2. Canada – 27 gold, 15 silver, 9 bronze
3. Czech Republic (Inc. Czechoslovakia) – 12 gold, 13 silver, 21 bronze
4. Sweden – 11 gold, 19 silver, 17 bronze
5. Finland – 3 gold, 9 silver, 3 bronze
6. USA – 2 gold, 9 silver, 9 bronze

IIHF World Championship 2022

The 2022 IIHF World Championship takes place in Finland. Tampere and the capital of Finland, Helsinki, will be hosting the tournament where 16 nations feature. The tournament begins on May 13th and will run through May 29th when the final takes place in the brand-new arena Nokia Arena in Tampere.

The 2022 year’s tournament is not the first ice hockey world cup to take place in Finland. Truth is that Finland is one of the nations that has hosted the tournament most times (7), only beaten by Sweden, Switzerland, Czech Republic and Germany.

The stadiums which are being used for the tournament are Nokia Arena (13 455) and Helsinki Ice Hall (8200). Group A will play their games in Helsinki while Group B will be located in Tampere.

Group A: Canada, Germany, Switzerland, Slovakia, Denmark, Kazakhstan, Italy, France
Group B: Finland, United States, Czech Republic, Sweden, Latvia, Norway, Great Britain, Austria

The group stage concludes on May 24th and the four top seeded nations from each group then advance to the knockout stage. The knockout stage begins with quarterfinals, followed by semifinals and the final on May 29th. Canada are the current champions and the nation to beat while Finland are also going into the tournament filled with belief and confident after a strong run in last year’s tournament where they finished as runner-up.

IIHF World Championship 2021

The 2021 world cup will run as scheduled and is planned to begin on May 21st. The tournament was at first planned to be held in Belarus but due to political issues the tournament was moved to Riga, Latvia. There will be 16 teams participating in the 2021 world cup. The final is scheduled to take place on June 6th and all games will be played in Riga, at two different venues. The teams that’re participating in the IIHF World Cup are:

Group A: Ice Hockey Federation of Russia, Sweden, Belarus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Switzerland, Slovakia, Great Britain
Group B: Canada, Finland, United States, Germany, Latvia, Norway, Italy, Kazakhstan

The teams will play each other once before the four best teams from each group proceed to the quarterfinals. The quarterfinals and the semifinals are played in a knockout format. The two venues that’re being used are Arena Riga with a capacity of 10 300 and Olympic Sports Centre with a capacity of 6200.

IIHF World Championship on TV & Live Streaming

The annual World Cup tournament is not only a massive event for the players and coaches, but also for all the fans around the world. The hype, engagement and the interest for the tournament is huge as fans from North America and Europe follow their teams. Livesportsontv.com is the perfect service for every US and Canadian viewer as it presents you with the latest broadcasting information and guidance on how to watch the tournament live on TV or live stream. The service is free to use and available on your computer, phone and tablet. As soon as there’re any changes made to the TV-listings you will find it in the schedule above.
For all viewers from the US the upcoming ice hockey world cup will be broadcast by ESPN+ and the NHL Network. Viewers will be able to watch every single game where the majority of them will be covered by studio talks pre- and after the games.
Canadian viewers will have to tune in TSN or RDS in order to watch the upcoming IIHF World Championship. The games will be covered by a number of experts in the studio who will deliver a great experience through the whole tournament.
Make sure you’re not missing out on any world cup content or games by using Livesportsontv.com. The IIIHF World Cup TV and live streaming schedule covers regional and national broadcasters and is being updated regularly.