MLS Games Today

When and where to watch Major League Soccer live on TV or stream today.

Full MLS TV and stream schedule, daily start times for all MLS games.!

Major League Soccer, MLS, is the name of the highest professional soccer league in USA and Canada. MLS has been running since 1996 and the most successful team is Los Angeles Galaxy with five MLS Cup titles. Get to know more about MLS and where you can watch all the games live on TV and stream by using

MLS and its history

Major League Soccer was founded in 1993 and ran its first season in 1996. As an exchange of letting USA host the FIFA World Cup 1994, FIFA demanded that the host nation established a professional soccer league and so MLS was founded. Before 1996 the biggest teams in USA and Canada competed in the North American Soccer League, NASL.

The soccer has always been finding it tough competing against the more traditional sports in USA and Canada like hockey, baseball, American football and basket. Low attendance at the games and difficulties in tying good players to the league are two of the problems MLS has been dealing with. More recently MLS has got a real upswing and both USA and Canada produce some world star players, who’ve also found their way into the European soccer leagues. Christian Pulisic in Chelsea and Alphonso Davies in Bayern Munich to mention a few.

Teams and competition format

There are 26 teams competing in the MLS, 23 from USA and 3 from Canada. By the 2023 season there will be 30 teams in the league, a sign of how fast the soccer is growing throughout the North American continent. The teams are divided into two different conferences, Western Conference with 12 teams and Eastern Conference with 14 teams.

The addition of four teams is planned to be done by the start of the 2023 season. The teams that are going to play in the MLS in the future are Austin FC (2021), Charlotte FC (2022), Sacramento Republic FC (2023) and St. Louis City SC (2023).

The MLS season is usually played from February to October. After the regular season it’s time for the best teams to proceed into the Playoffs. The Playoffs are played as a knock-out format and is taking place in October before the MLS Cup is played in early November, the game where the champion is crowned.


MLS Cup is the name of the game that decides the winner of the MLS season. Since 2008 the trophy that has been handed out to the winning team is the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy. The game between the winner of the Western Conference and the winner of the Eastern Conference in November is played at a pre-determined venue before any Playoff-teams are known.

Previous champions:
2016 – Seattle Sounder vs Toronto FC 0-0, BMO Field (Toronto FC won on penalties)
2017 – Toronto FC vs Seattle Sounders 2-0, BMO Field
2018 – Atlanta United FC vs Portland Timbers 2-0, Mercedes-Benz Stadium
2019 – Seattle Sounders vs Toronto FC 3-1, CenturyLink Field
2020 – Columbus Crew vs Seattle Sounders 3-0, Columbus Crew won. Game played on the Mapfre Stadium, Columbus, Ohio.
2021 - New York City FC vs Portland Timbers 1-1, New York City FC won on penalties 4-2. Game was played on Providence Park, Portland, Oregon.
2022 - Los Angeles FC - Philadelphia Union 3-3, Los Angeles FC won on penalties 3-0. The final was played on Banc of California Stadium, Los Angeles, California

Los Angeles Galaxy has won the trophy five times which is more than any other team. Toronto FC and Seattle Sounders are the most successful teams in recent seasons with three final appearances in the last four seasons. The player who has won the MLS Cup most times is Landon Donovan with six trophies.

Player records in MLS

Most goals scored
1. Chris Wondolowski 163 goals
2. Landon Donovan 145 goals
3. Jeff Cunningham 134 goals
4. Jaime Moreno 133 goals
5. Kei Kamara 130 goals

Most assists
1. Landon Donovan 136 assists
2. Steve Ralston 135 assists
3. Brad Davis 123 assists
4. Carlos Valderrama 114 assists
5. Preki 112 assists

Clean sheets
1. Nick Rimando 154
2. Kevin Hartmann 112
3. Joe Cannon 86
4. Jon Busch 83
5. Stefan Frei 80

Where to watch MLS live on TV & Stream

Every game from MLS is broadcasted in USA and Canada, and with you’ll find the right channel or streaming service for the game you want to see. Wherever you are the dates and times will be automatically adjusted to your time zone making this TV-schedule the perfect service for every sports fan. By using you’ll never miss a game due to a late change of kick off time, the TV-guide is updated continuously. The service is free to use, and you can use it on your computer, phone and tablet.