Who owns the Baltimore Ravens?

Currently (as of 2022), the Baltimore Ravens are owned by Steve Bisciotti. Steve was born on April 10, 1960, in Philadelphia before his family moved to settle in Baltimore a year later.

He first bought a minority interest in 2000 before purchasing the remainder of the shares from Modell in 2004. Before buying the Ravens, Steve's business empire was not in the public domain because he always kept a low profile. At age 62, he is now one of the youngest club owners in the National Football League, only behind Daniel Snyder, Michael Bidwill, and Clark Hunt, all of whom are 57 years.

Steve Bisciotti's initial investment was to provide funds that helped secure new signings for the team in preparation for the 2000 Super Bowl XXXV Championship. Since his take over, the team's value has been increasing every year, becoming the world's 16th most valuable sports franchise, according to Forbes' 2021 rankings. Besides running businesses, Steve gives back to the community through acts of charity, including donations to the Mother Seton Academy, a non-tuition institution for low-income people in Baltimore. He is the founder of the Stephen and Renee Bisciotti Foundation.

For the full game schedule for Baltimore Ravens, click here.

The Baltimore Ravens Achievements

Since its inception, the Ravens have been one of the most successful teams in the NFL, despite having struggled in the late 1990s. Since 2000, the team has qualified for the playoffs a whopping 13 times. It has also laid hands on the much-coveted Super Bowl title twice, including the Super Bowl XXXV and XLVII. Other notable achievements include six AFC North division titles won in 2003, 2006, 2011, 2012, 2018, and 2019. In 2000, the Ravens won the AFC Championship title and did it again in 2012.

The Team's Greatest Players

The Baltimore Ravens are known to have had some of the best talents to ever grace the NFL, some of whom have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Here are some of the team's all-time greatest names:

Ray Lewis

Ray Lewis is arguably the best player in the history of the team. A middle linebacker, Lewis hung his boots with 31 interceptions, 20 fumble recoveries, 2,005 tackles, and 41.5 sacks. During his 17-year stint with the Ravens, Lewis won the AP Defensive Player of the Year award twice. He also won MVP of Super Bowl XXXV, Super Bowl XLVII, and Super Bowl XXXV.

Ed Reed

Reed was a free safety who cemented his place among the Ravens legends. He ended his NFL career with seven touchdowns, 1,590 return yards, and 64 interceptions. Having played for the Ravens for 11 years, Reed won Super Bowl XLVII and the 2004 AP Defensive Player of the Year award.

Jonathan Ogden

Ogden was the team's first-ever draft pick and was also the first Ravens player to be a Pro Football Hall of Famer. He made the Pro Bowl every year from 1997 to 2007. His major achievements included four-time All-Pro and 11-time Pro Bowler.

Other Legendary Names

  • Joe Flacco
  • Jamal Lewis
  • Terrell Suggs
  • Rod Woodson
  • Haloti Ngata

NFL schedule and more here.

Author: Dan Anderson