NFL Team by Team Guide: Buffalo Bills

NFL Team by Team Guide: Buffalo Bills

The Bills were one of the original franchises of the old American Football League (AFL). They began play in 1960 and joined the NFL as a result of the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. Buffalo won two AFL championships but has never won a Super Bowl.

In fact, the Bills are the only franchise in NFL history to win four straight conference championships. They are also the only franchise to lose four consecutive Super Bowls. After the Bills made the postseason in 1999, they did not return until the 2017 season.

Fans can watch the Bills as part of the NFL TV schedule. They can watch Buffalo games on TV and stream games through a number of different services. Buffalo can be seen on special broadcasts like Sunday Night Football or Monday Night Football throughout the season. The Bills can be watched on NBC Sports, FOX Sports, ESPN, and CBS. Games can also be streamed through Hulu, YouTubeTV, and Amazon Prime Video to name a few.

Home of the Bills

Buffalo began playing at the old Warm Memorial Stadium in 1960 where they played until 1972. Originally called Rich Stadium, Buffalo’s current home bears the franchise name – Bills Stadium. The Bills have played there since 1973. The stadium holds 71,608 fans for Bills home games.

Championship History

The Bills franchise has had its share of success through the years. As mentioned, Buffalo won two AFL titles in 1964 and 1965. The Bills have won 10 division championships, which include three – 1964, 1965, and 1966 – in the old AFL. Buffalo has won the AFC East seven times (1980, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1993, and 1995).

Buffalo has been to the NFL playoffs 15 times and the AFL playoffs four times for a total of 19 postseason trips. . As stated previously, Buffalo has won four conference titles (1990, 1991, 1992, and 1993).

Best of the Bills

One of the Bills first greats was RB O.J. Simpson who set the NFL record for single-season rushing yards in 1973. He won the NFL’s MVP award that same year. He was a five-time Pro Bowl selection, five-time All-Pro, and led the NFL in rushing in four different seasons. Simpson is one of the all-time great NFL running backs and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1985.

Quarterback Jim Kelly was the catalyst of the Bills’ offense that set records and guided Buffalo to four straight AFC titles. Kelly went to the Pro Bowl five times and was an All-Pro three times. Kelly’s top target was Andre Reed who, like Kelly, was inducted into the Hall of Fame. Reed played 14 seasons in Buffalo and finished his NFL career with 951 receptions and 13,198 yards. Reed was a seven-time Pro Bowl selection making it every season between 1988 and 1994.

On the defensive side of the ball while Kelly and Reed were taking care of the offense was DE Bruce Smith. The former No. 1 draft pick played 14 seasons in Buffalo and made the Pro Bowl in 11 of them. Smith was an All-Pro ten times and twice won the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year award. Smith finished his Hall of Fame career with 200 sacks.

There's not only NFL on TV this time of the year. Catch up with latest news from the NHL here, where a new season has just started!

Author: Dan Anderson