NHL Team Guide: New York Islanders

NHL Team Guide: New York Islanders

The New York Islanders were founded in 1972 as a means of keeping a team from the rival World Hockey Association (WHA) out of Nassau Coliseum in Uniondale, New York. The Islanders spent two years building a roster that would go on to become a dynasty very quickly. Beginning with their third year of existence, the Islanders went to 14 straight NHL playoffs and won four straight Stanley Cups from 1980 to 1983.

Fans can watch nationally telecast Islanders game on TV at NBC or NBCSN. Regional network coverage of Islanders games on TV can be found at MSG or MSG+. New York fans around the country can also live stream games using the NBC Sports app.

NHL Standings

The Islanders have survived a number of division and conference moves. New York is currently one of the eight teams that make up the Metropolitan Division of the Eastern Conference. The Islanders play most of their NHL schedule against the other 15 teams in the conference.

Championship History

After joining the NHL in 1972, the Islanders found success quickly making the playoffs for the first time in the 1974-75 season. The franchise won the first of its six division championships in 1977-78. New York also won division titles in 1978-79, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, and 1983-84.

By the late 1970s, the Islanders had assembled an outstanding roster. Beginning with the 1979-80 season, New York would pull of one of the more impressive Stanley Cup runs in NHL history. The Islanders won four straight Stanley Cups between 1980 and 1983. They are the franchises only four Stanley Cup titles.

Home of the Islanders

S The Islanders are preparing to move into their new home in 2021. The Belmont Park arena, located in Elmont on Long Island, is expected be ready to go for the 2021-22 NHL season. The new arena seats 17,113 for hockey games.

Prior to the move, the Islanders home games were played at the Nassau Coliseum (capacity 13,917) and the newer Barclay’s Center in Brooklyn (capacity 15,795).

Best of the Islanders

The Islanders have had six players inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. The first two to be inducted (in 1991) were Denis Potvin and Mike Bossy. Potvin played 15 seasons in New York and totaled 310 goals, 742 assists, and 1052 points. He is third on the franchise’s all-time scoring list. Potvin was a three-time winner of the Norris Trophy as the NHL’s best defenseman and played on all four of the Islanders Stanley Cup teams.

Bossy is second on the all-time scoring list. He too played on all four Stanley Cup teams. Bossy scored 1,126 points and is the NHL record-holder for points per game (1.49). He won the Calder Trophy as the league’s Rookie of the Year in 1978 and won a Conn Smythe Trophy as MVP of the 1982 Stanley Cup playoffs. Bossy, whose career was cut short by injury, scored 117 points or more in seven of his ten years as an Islander.

The Islanders top career scorer is Bryan Trottier who also played on all four Islanders Stanley Cup teams and is a member of the Hall of Fame. Trottier scored 1,353 career points. He was the NHL’s Rookie of the Year in 1976 and also won Art Ross, Hart Memorial, and Conn Smythe trophies during his 18-year career with the Islanders.

Authors: Dan Anderson