NFL Team by Team Guide: Los Angeles Rams

NFL Team by Team Guide: Los Angeles Rams

The Rams franchise was established in 1936 in Cleveland. After winning the 1945 NFL championship, the Rams moved to Los Angeles to make way for the Cleveland Browns. After the 1994 season, the franchise moved once again to St. Louis. The Rams eventually made their way back to Los Angeles after the 2015 season.

The Rams are the only NFL franchise to win championships representing three different cities: Cleveland (1945), Los Angeles (1951), and St. Louis (1999). The 1999 championship is the franchise’s only Super Bowl (XXXIV) victory.

Nationally and regionally televised Rams’ games can be seen on FOX Sports and CBS. The Rams can also been seen every so often on other national telecasts like Sunday Night Football and Monday Night Football. Los Angeles fans can also watch almost the complete Rams TV schedule using a live streaming service such as fuboTV, HULU, Amazon Prime Video, or CBS All Access.

Home of the Rams

When the Rams moved to Los Angeles the first time, they played in the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. Upon returning to the L.A., the Rams again played at the Coliseum through the 2019 season. The team moved into its new home, SoFi Stadium, prior to the 2020 season. They share the stadium, which seats 70,240 fans, with the Los Angeles Chargers.

Championship History

The Rams have made 29 appearances in the NFL playoffs. Seventeen of those appearances were the result of winning a division title. Four of those division titles came before the AFL-NFL merger.

The franchise has won seven conference titles. Three of those (1950, 1951, and 1955) came before the merger. The Rams have won one Super Bowl title (XXXIV in 1999) winning as the St. Louis Rams.

Best of the Rams

Norm Van Brocklin was one of the game’s best early passers. He still holds the NFL record for passing yards in a game (554). Van Brocklin led the Rams to two NFL championships (1951, 1960). In 1954, he led the NFL in passing yards and in 1960 Van Brocklin was the league’s MVP. He earned nine Pro Bowl trips, went on to become an NFL head coach, and is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The term “sack” came about as a result of former Rams DE Deacon Jones. He is regarded as one of the game’s best defensive linemen of all-time. Jones earned eight trips to the Pro Bowl and five first-team All-Pro honors. He won the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year award in back-to-back seasons in 1967 and 1968. Jones was inducted into the Hall Fame in 1980.

Marshall Faulk is the only NFL player with at least 12,000 rushing yards and 6,000 receiving yards in NFL history. Faulk was selected to seven Pro Bowls and earned six All-Pro honors. He was the NFL’s Offensive Player of the Year in three consecutive seasons from 1999 to 2001. In 2000, Faulk was the NFL’s MVP. He helped lead the Rams to the franchise’s only Super Bowl (XXXIV) victory in 1999.