NFL Team by Team Guide: Cincinnati Bengals

NFL Team by Team Guide: Cincinnati Bengals

When new Browns owner Art Modell got rid of Paul Brown in 1963, he immediately began looking to start another franchise in Ohio. In 1967, the Bengals were founded in Cincinnati with Brown as their head coach. The Bengals began play in the old AFL in 1968 and became a member of the NFL with the 1970 merger.

Cincinnati is the only AFL franchise that has never won a championship in either the AFL or NFL. The Bengals won the AFC title in 1981 and 1988 but lost in both Super Bowls. Cincinnati is one of 12 NFL teams that have yet to win a Super Bowl.

The NFL TV schedule usually includes the Bengals on a prime time telecast like Thursday Night Football. Fans can watch the complete Cincinnati schedule using a streaming service like HULU, CBS All-Access, or AT&T TV Now. Regional broadcasts of Bengals games can be viewed on CBS and national telecasts can be seen on ESPN, FOX Sports, and NBC Sports as well as CBS.

Home of the Bengals

The Bengals originally played home games at Nippert Stadium on the campus of the University of Cincinnati. That was only for their two seasons in the AFL. The franchise then moved to Riverfront Stadium where it remained until 1999. The Bengals now play in Paul Brown Stadium where they have been since 2000. The stadium seats 65,515 fans for Bengals home games.

Championship History

In addition to the previously mentioned AFC titles in 1981 and 1988, the Bengals have captured nine division titles. They won the AFC Central five times (1970, 1973, 1981, 1988, and 1990) and the AFC North four times (2005, 2009, 2013, and 2015).

Cincinnati has made 14 trips to the NFL playoffs, the most recent of which was in 2015 after winning the AFC North. The Bengals made the postseason in their first year in the NFL (1970).

Best of the Bengals

Anthony Munoz is routinely part of the discussion concerning the best offensive linemen in NFL history. The No. 3 overall pick in the 1980 NFL draft, Munoz played his entire NFL career for Cincinnati. Over the course of his 12-year NFL career, Munoz was selected to 11 straight Pro Bowls from 1981 to 1991. He was also a nine-time first-team All-Pro and a two-time second-team All-Pro. Munoz played 185 career games starting 182 of them. A member of the NFL’s 75th and 100th Anniversary All-Time Teams, Munoz is also a member of the Hall of Fame.

The Bengals have had two quarterbacks that have won NFL MVPs. Ken Anderson played his entire 15-year career in Cincinnati. He led the league in passing twice and was a four-time Pro Bowler. In 1981, Anderson led the NFL in completions (300), attempts (479) and passing yards (3,754). He also set a career-high for touchdown passes on his way to winning the NFL Offensive Player of the Year as well as the league MVP.

Bommer Esiason spent nine seasons with the Bengals. He threw for 3,572 yards and 28 touchdowns in winning the NFL MVP in 1988. Esiason was a four-time Pro Bowl selection and was the NFL Man of the Year in 1995.

Author: Dan Anderson