What World Cup Events are on TV?

When and where to watch FIFA World Cup games live on TV or stream today

Here we will provide you with up-to-date TV and streaming information for the World Cup. Check out the schedule below to find out how to watch upcoming live events on TV.

The FIFA World Cup 2026 is scheduled to be held from June to July, 2026. This mega event will be co-hosted by three North American nations: Canada, Mexico, and the United States, marking the first time a World Cup is hosted by three countries. On Livesportsontv.com and in the programming schedule above, you will find information about upcoming games, kick-off times and guidance on how to watch the games World Cup games on TV and stream in the US.

This is the FIFA World Cup:

  • When is the tournament held:
  • June - July (2026)
  • Number of teams:
  • 48
  • Host Nations:
  • USA, Canada, Mexico
  • TV & Streaming Rights:
  • Fox and Telemundo
  • Most successful nation:
  • Brazil (5 Titles)
  • Current Champions:
  • Argentina (3 Titles)

      FIFA World Cup 2026

      The 23rd edition of the FIFA World Cup, slated for 2026, is already generating a buzz in the global football community. The tournament, marketed as FIFA World Cup 26, is set to be a game-changer in many ways. From its hosting format to an expanded team count, the 2026 FIFA World Cup is expected to redefine the dynamics of this international football competition.

      The reigning champions, Argentina, will be looking to defend their title against 47 other national teams, in a tournament that has seen a significant expansion from the traditional 32 teams. This increase in participating teams was a result of the United 2026 bid outvoting a rival bid from Morocco at the 68th FIFA Congress in Moscow.

      This will also be the first World Cup since 2002 to be hosted by more than one nation. With its history of hosting the 1970 and 1986 tournaments, Mexico will become the first country to host or co-host the men's World Cup three times. For the United States, this marks a return to hosting duties after the 1994 World Cup, while Canada will be making its debut as a host or co-host for the men's tournament.

      A New Format

      The 2026 FIFA World Cup will see the debut of an expanded format, with 48 teams participating, an increase from the previous 32 teams. The teams will be divided into 12 groups of four teams, with the top two from each group and the best eight third-placed teams progressing to a new round of 32. This expansion will increase the total number of games played from 64 to 104, and is expected to extend the tournament duration to between 38 and 40 days.

      Despite the increase in team count and matches, each team will still play three group matches. The final matchday at club level for players named in the final squads is May 24, 2026; clubs will have to release their players by May 25, with exceptions granted to players participating in continental club competition finals up until May 30.

      Critics of this expanded format argue that it could increase the risk of collusion between teams. In response, FIFA has suggested that penalty shoot-outs may be used to prevent draws in the group stage, although this method could also pose its own risks.
      Nations from the following confederations feature in the FIFA World Cup:
      • Confederation of African Football (CAF)
      • Asian Football Confederation (AFC)
      • Union of European Football Associations (UEFA)
      • Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF)
      • Oceania Football Confederation (OFC)
      • South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL)

      FIFA World Cup 2023 on TV & Stream

      The U.S. and Canadian broadcasting rights for the 2026 World Cup were renewed for Fox, Telemundo, and CTV/TSN parent company Bell Media, without accepting any other bids. This decision was reportedly made to compensate for the rescheduling of the 2022 World Cup to November-December, which created significant conflicts with major professional sports leagues that are normally in their off-season during the World Cup.

      As the world eagerly awaits the kick-off of the 2026 FIFA World Cup, football enthusiasts around the globe can look forward to a tournament filled with exciting changes and new dynamics. This prestigious event is set to not only celebrate the sport of football but also showcase the unity and diversity of the global football community.

      Previous Tournaments: FIFA World Cup 2022

      The 2022 World Cup was not a tournament like the others. First off, it took place between late-November and mid-December which was the first time ever that a World Cup was not played in May, June or July. It was also the first World Cup to ever been played in the Arab World with Qatar as the sole host of the tournament. There was 32 teams competing in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. A limitation that FIFA has decided on increasing for the next tournament as 48 teams will participate when the World Cup comes to the US, Canada and Mexico in 2026.

      The US national team was one of four teams qualifying for the World Cup from the North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football. Last time the USMNT featured in the FIFA World Cup was in Brazil 2014. Then, the journey came to an end in the round of 16 when Belgium won a tight game by 2-1 after first a goalless 90 minutes and later three goals in extra time. The USMNT has lacked greater success in previous World Cups and hasn’t ever reached past the quarterfinals as they did in the inaugural tournament in 1930.

      What stadiums were used for the FIFA World Cup 2022?

      There was a total of eight venues used during the World Cup 2022. Most of the stadiums were newly built for the tournament and were all closely located to the capital of Qatar, Doha. Lusail Iconic Stadium, capacity of 80 000, was the venue for the final. The Lusail Iconic Stadium broke ground in 2017 and stood ready in the end of 2021. It is the biggest stadium in Qatar and hosted 9 additional games to the final.

      Lusail Iconic Stadium (80 000)
      Al Bayt Stadium (60 000)
      Education City Stadium (45 350)
      Ahmed bin Ali Stadium (44 740)
      Khalifa International Stadium (40 000)
      Al Janoub Stadium (40 000)
      Stadium 974 (40 000)
      Al Thumama Stadium (40 000)

      What were the Groups in the FIFA World Cup 2022

      • Group A: Qatar (Host), Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
      • Group B: England, Iran, United States, Wales
      • Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
      • Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
      • Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
      • Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
      • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
      • Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea