NFL Team by Team Guide: Los Angeles Chargers

NFL Team by Team Guide: Los Angeles Chargers

The Los Angeles Chargers were founded in 1959 and began play in the old American Football League in 1960. The Chargers were a charter member of the AFL and then decided to move to San Diego after one season in L.A.

In 2017, it was announced that the franchise would move back to L.A. where they have been ever since. This move coincided with the Rams move from St. Louis back to Los Angeles. Both the Rams and the Chargers share SoFi Stadium as their home field.

Chargers games are available as part of regional and national broadcasts on a variety of networks including CBS, FOX Sports, ABC, ESPN, and the NFL Network. In addition, fans can watch most of the Chargers complete schedule on a variety of live streaming services such as HULU, CBS All Access, and AT&T TV Now.

Home of the Chargers

The original Chargers played in the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum but only for one season. When they moved to San Diego, the Chargers first played in Balboa Stadium up until 1966 before moving to Qualcomm Stadium where they remained until the move back to L.A. The Chargers played three seasons at Dignity Health Sports Park, which only seated 27,000 fans, before moving into SoFi Stadium for the 2020 season. SoFi Stadium seats 70,240.

Championship History

The Chargers experienced immediate success in the AFL winning division championships in their first two seasons and an AFL championship in 1963. Of the Chargers 15 division titles, five came in the AFL. The other ten were all AFC West crowns.

The Chargers have been to the playoffs 19 times, but have only won a single conference championship. They lost to San Francisco in Super Bowl XXIX, the Chargers only appearance in the game.

Best of Chargers

Lance Alworth was a gifted wide receiver who would become a seven-time AFL All-Star and a six-time first-team All-AFL selection. Alworth was the AFL Player of the Year in 1963. He led the AFL in receiving yards, receptions, and receiving touchdowns three times each. He finished his Hall of Fame career with an average of 18.9 yards per reception.

Three-time first-team All-Pro quarterback Dan Fouts flourished in the “Air Coryell” system of head coach Don Coryell. He led the NFL in passing yards for four straight seasons from 1979 to 1982. Fouts was the NFL Offensive Player of the Year in 1982 and was selected to six Pro Bowls. He was the first player in NFL history to throw for over 4,000 yards in a season.

Linebacker Junior Seau played 13 seasons for the Chargers from 1990 to 2002. He was a 12-time Pro Bowler and an eight-time first-team All-Pro. Seau was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1992 and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2015.

Tight end Kellen Winslow revolutionized the position. He led the NFL in receptions –unheard of at the time for a tight end – in 1980 and in 1981. He was selected to the Pro Bowl five times and was a first-team All-Pro three times. He is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Author: Dan Anderson